2021 Cohort Announcement

August 24, 2021


With the successful kick-off of Cardinal Women* on August 17th we would like to announce that 52 individuals have been selected to participate in the fourth cohort of this personal and professional leadership development program specifically for women* who are faculty and staff at Iowa State University.

These 52 individuals, along with 10 small group leaders, will engage in five two hour sessions this fall, participate in large and small group discussions, and continue the conversation between sessions via Canvas.  Program topics include identifying and silencing the inner critic, discovering and utilizing your inner mentor, communication style strategies, approaches to negotiation, and how to support and affirm others in our community.

This program is being offered at no cost to participants and these individuals were selected from the 78 applications received for this year’s program.  Cardinal Women* was developed and is being led by Tera Lawson, Procurement Services, and Dr. Denise Williams-Klotz, Office of Multicultural Student Affairs.




ISU Foundation

  • Kristina Carroll, ISU Foundation



Office of the Senior Vice President for Student Affairs

  • Keara Doocy, TRIO Student Support Services

Dean of Students

  • Elizabeth Gillmore, Sorority and Fraternity Engagement
  • Aiden Jones, Multicultural Student Affairs
  • Jacki Mobley, Multicultural Student Affairs
  • Rebecca Nation, Academic Success Center
  • Katherine Worley, International Students and Scholars Office

Campus Life

  • Kpandi Lumeh, Department of Residence



Central Finance & Finance Delivery

  • Marce Bruhn, Finance Service Delivery/ISD
  • Kelly Freel, Procurement Services
  • Christina Hicks, Finance Service Delivery/ISD
  • Melissa Ventura, Finance Service Delivery/ISD

Environmental Health & Safety

  • Anne Dombroski-Brokman, Environmental Health & Safety

Specialty Business Services & Cultural Arts

  • Sara Merritt, Reiman Gardens



Office of the Provost

  • Carly Miller, Program for Women in Science and Engineering
  • Kim Ohge, New Student Programs

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

  • Sarah Canova, Food Science and Human Nutrition**
  • Anna Johnson, Animal Science
  • Aude Watrelot, Food Science and Human Nutrition

** Food Science & Human Nutrition is in both College of Human Sciences & College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Ivy College of Business

  • Lea Johannsen, Ivy College of Business Communications Center
  • Rhaechel Ohge Fritz, Ivy College of Business/Undergraduate Programs
  • Monica Sasse, Ivy College of Business

College of Design

  • Shellie Hosch, Design Career and Student Services

College of Engineering

  • Kelsey Hummer, College of Engineering
  • Sadie Johnson, Engineering Student Services
  • Santos Nunez, College of Engineering-Student Services
  • Caitlin Trom, Aerospace Engineering

College of Human Sciences

  • Angie Brellenthin, Kinesiology
  • Sarah Canova, Food Science and Human Nutrition**
  • Shannon Coleman, Food Science and Human Nutrition
  • Susan DeBlieck, Human Sciences Extension
  • Billie Flaming, Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management
  • Gabriella Gugliotta, Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management
  • Cori Hyde, Research Institute for Studies in Education
  • Larysa Nadolny, School of Education
  • Shawn Peterson, Human Development and Family Studies/Child Welfare Research & Training Project

** Food Science & Human Nutrition is in both College of Human Sciences & College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Sara Compton, Music and Theatre
  • Suzanne Harle, LAS Administration
  • Marlene Jacks, LAS Administration
  • Karen Kovarik, Economics
  • Anne Kretsinger-Harries, English
  • Sabrina Shields-Cook, Communication Studies
  • Amy Walton, English

College of Veterinary Medicine

  • Rachel Derscheid, Veterinary Diagnostic and Production Animal Medicine
  • Audra Hartwigsen, Biomedical Sciences
  • Cheryl Lawson, Veterinary Pathology
  • Molly Lee, Center for Food Security and Public Health


  • Amy Bishop, Special Collections and University Archives


  • Dacia Cooley, Office of the Vice President for Research
  • Erica Hellmich, National Institute of Antimicrobial Resistance Research & Education


  • Lorena Dorado-Robles, 4-H Youth Development

Ames Lab

  • Meredith Ohrt, Ames Laboratory
  • Melinda Schlosser, Ames Laboratory



The 2021 Small Group Leaders selected to provide guidance and facilitation for the small groups are:

  • Lakshmi Attigala, Agronomy
  • Erica Beirman, Food Science & Human Nutrition
  • Angela Braggs, Human Development and Family Studies/Child Welfare Research & Training Project
  • Jessica DeWall, Kinesiology
  • Ana Luz, Industrial Design
  • Kristen Obbink, Center for Food Security/Public Health
  • Michelle Roling, Student Health & Wellness/ Student Counseling Services
  • Lindsey Schaefer, Air Force ROTC
  • Jennifer Schroeder, Finance Delivery
  • Rosalie Vos Tulp, Electrical and Computer Engineering


*This group is comprised of faculty and staff that identify as women*.  This includes women who are cisgender, trans, of trans experience, etc.  We also welcome individuals who identify as gender non-binary or gender queer who seek this community.  We recognize that gender is complex and members of our community who seek this group are welcome to apply.