2018 Cohort Announcement

August 10, 2018


With the successful kick-off of Cardinal Women on August 8th we would like to announce that 72 individuals have been selected to participate in this personal and professional leadership development program specifically for women* who are faculty and professional and scientific staff at Iowa State University.

These 72 women* along with 8 small group leaders will engage in four two hour face-to-face sessions this fall, participate in large and small group discussions, and continue the conversation between sessions via Canvas.  Program topics include identifying and silencing the inner critic, discovering and utilizing your inner mentor, communication style strategies, approaches to negotiation, and how to support and affirm those who identify as women in our community.

This program is being offered at no cost to participants and these women* were selected from the 138 applications received for the program.  Cardinal Women was developed and is being led by Tera Lawson, Center for Technology in Learning and Teaching, and Dr. Denise Williams-Klotz, Office of Multicultural Student Affairs.

2018 Cardinal Women (alphabetized by department or unit)

Anne Clem, Accounting

Stephanie Boersma, Ames Laboratory

Hiliary Burns, Ames Laboratory

Sarah Morris-Benavides, Ames Laboratory

Kara Nady, Ames Laboratory

Mary Sue Mayes, Animal Science/Animal Breeding and Genetics

Kelly Reddy-Best, Apparel, Merchandising, and Design

Shelby Doyle, Architecture

Kirthi Narayanaswamy, Biotechnology

Tracey Stewart, Biotechnology

Karen Couves, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching

Lesya Hassall, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching

Ashley Augspurger, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Elizabeth Peters, Chemistry

Holly Dunlay-Lott, College of Engineering, Engineering Student Services

Erin French, College of Human Sciences

Stephanie Hamilton, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Sarah Frette, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Student Academic Services

Misty Treanor, College of Veterinary Medicine

Milly Agai, Dean of Students Office

Katy Cran, Dean of Students Office

Carrie Giese, Dean of Students Office

Sandra Looft, Dean of Students Office

nicci port, Diversity and Inclusion

Julie Rursch, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Camille Sloan Schroeder, Engineering Community Outreach

Lori Jarmon, Engineering Research Institute

Christy Oxendine, Engineering Student Services

Abby Dubisar, English

Tina Coffelt, English and Communication Studies

Rachel McKenny, English/Speech Communication

Amy Helgerson, Environmental Health and Safety

Christine Knight-Gipe, Extension and Outreach

Carly Manz, Genetics, Development, and Cell Biology

Jessica Bell, Grants Hub

Kelsie Poe, Greenlee School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Grace Provenzano, Greenlee School of Journalism and Mass Communication

A. Jalynn Almond, Human Development and Family Studies

Kate Goudy, Human Development and Family Studies/CWRTP

Jeannette Mukayisire, Human Science Extension and Outreach

Katy Farlow, InTrans

Hanna Bates, Iowa Water Center

Alicia Smith, ISU Research Park

Meleah Cue, Ivy College of Business

Tara Fisher, Ivy College of Business

Kelly Pistilli, Ivy College of Business

Kathy Weaver, Ivy College of Business

Diana Sloan, Ivy College of Business Graduate Programs

Jenny Gibbs, Kinesiology

Melissa Chamberlin, Management

Cassandra Nuñez, Natural Resource Ecology and Management

Jen Hacke Sass, Office of Admissions

Jennifer Johnson, Office of Admissions

Jordan Bates, Office of Internal Audit

Megan Landolt, Office of the President

Jennifer Suchan, Office of the Registrar

Cara Fink, Office for Responsible Research

Rylie Carlson, Office of Student Financial Aid

Dana Wilson, Office of the Vice President for Research

Stacy Sassman, Procurement Services

Sarah DuBois, Program for Women in Science and Engineering

Jessie Liebenguth, Reiman Gardens

Naomi Drakeford, Student Counseling Service

Jazzmine Brooks, Student Wellness

Sara Parris, Thielen Student Health Center

Svitlana Zbarska, University Honors Program

Jodi Hilleman, University Library

Megan O'Donnell, University Library

Rachel Seale, University Library

Michelle Lenkaitis, Utilities/Facilities Planning and Management

Lindsey Wanderscheid, Utilities/Facilities Planning and Management

Megan Jeanette Myers, World Languages and Cultures


Cardinal Women Small Group Leaders: (alphabetized by department or unit)

Julienne Krennrich, Ames Laboratory

Sara Marcketti, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching

Kris Johansen, Economic Development and Industry Relations

Jenn Wiederin, Ivy College of Business

Lynn Comito, Office of Research Integrity

Karen Bramow, Office of the Vice President for Research

Paula DeAngelo, University Counsel

Hilary Seo, University Library


Thank you to the Office of the Vice President for Research for providing funding for the first session of Cardinal Women!


*This group is comprised of faculty and professional and scientific staff that identify as women. This includes women who are cisgender, trans, of trans experience, etc.