Current Participants

August 16, 2023

With the successful kick-off of Cardinal Women* on August 15th we would like to announce that 65 individuals have been selected to participate in the sixth cohort of this personal and professional leadership development program specifically for women* who are faculty and staff at Iowa State University.

These 65 women*, along with 10 small group leaders, will engage in five two-hour sessions this fall, participate in large and small group discussions, and continue the conversation between sessions via Canvas.  Program topics include identifying and silencing the inner critic, discovering and utilizing your inner mentor, communication style strategies, approaches to negotiation, and how to support and affirm those who identify as women* in our community.

This program is being offered at no cost to participants and these women* were selected from the 127 applications received for this year’s program.  Cardinal Women* was developed and is being led by Tera Lawson, Procurement Services, and Dr. Denise Williams-Klotz, ISU Foundation





Environmental Health and Safety

  • Nikki Brandon, Environmental Health and Safety

Federal Relations

  • Haley Moon, Federal Relations

Human Resources

  • Kelly Blakeley, HR Delivery

ISU Foundation

  • Jodi Knox, ISU Foundation
  • Rachael Rail, ISU Foundation
  • Becky Salz, ISU Foundation
  • Amy Schindel, ISU Foundation
  • Laura Wiersema, ISU Foundation



Office of the Senior Vice President for Student Affairs

  • Joyce Hagley, TRIO Student Support Services
  • Amanda Puffett, Assessment Research and Divisional Effectiveness

Dean of Students

  • Jehan Faisal, Margaret Sloss Center for Women and Gender Equity
  • Jenna Haffner, International Students and Scholars Office
  • Christi Kampen, Dean of Students Office
  • Bethany Kula-Nickels, Academic Success Center

Campus Life

  • Liz Housholder, Department of Residence
  • Karen Rodekamp, ISU Dining
  • Lana Seiler, Memorial Union



Business Services and Cultural Arts

  • Kimberly Hope, Reiman Gardens

Facilities Planning and Management

  • Sarah Lawrence, Facilities Planning and Management
  • Christine Reinders-Caron, Facilities Planning and Management

Finance Services

  • Carolyn Schreck, Finance Service Delivery
  • Katie Siders, Finance Service Delivery

Institutional Financial Strategy

  • Natalie Kline, Controller’s Office



Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost

  • Lily Compton, Graduate College
  • Emily Dougill, Office of the Registrar
  • Kat Klingseis, Office of Admissions
  • Anna Larson, Office of Admissions
  • Dani Orris, Student Innovation Center
  • Amber Tiarks, Office of the Registrar
  • Misty Zimmerman, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

  • Kristen Bollenbaugh, Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • Alison Parker, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Administration
  • Bruna Petry, Animal Science

College of Design

  • Carly Groninga, Design Student Services
  • Jae-Hwa Lee, Interior Design
  • Lauren Johnson, Design Administration
  • Hope Kepler, Graphic and Industrial Design

College of Engineering

  • Elaina Beck, Engineering Student Services
  • Alisha Carroll, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
  • Leah Eilers, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Alex Gustafson, Engineering Student Services
  • Natasha Hoover, Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • Elizabeth Medina, Mechanical Engineering
  • Cassie Rutherford, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
  • Heather Ure, Engineering International Programs

College of Human Sciences

  • Katie Bangert, Human Development and Family Studies
  • Ana Paula Fantini, Kinesiology
  • Laurel Feakes, Human Sciences Administration
  • Diana Figueredo, School of Education
  • Elizabeth Lefferts, Kinesiology
  • Elizabeth Stegemoller, Kinesiology

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Julie Roseman, Liberal Arts and Sciences Administration
  • Betsy Swanner, Geological and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Kaylee Wellik, Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
  • Shenglan Zhang, World Languages and Cultures

College of Veterinary Medicine

  • Katie Baber-Dillavou, Research and Graduate Studies
  • Megan Jedlicka, Veterinary Clinical Sciences

Extension and Outreach

  • Lisa Bates, Community and Economic Development
  • Olivia Hanlon, Farm, Food, and Enterprise Development

Ivy College of Business

  • Samantha Cross, Marketing
  • Natallia Gray, Management and Entrepreneurship
  • Katie Haygood, Undergraduate Student Services


  • Jessica Green, Special Collections and University Archives
  • Michelle Zhai, Research Data Services


  • Brooke Rogers, Bioeconomy Institute



The 2023 Small Group Leaders selected to provide guidance and facilitation for the small groups are:

  • Ashley Acree, ISU Foundation
  • Erica Beirman, Food Science and Human Nutrition
  • Sarah Eastlund, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
  • Ericka Eregbu, Finance Service Delivery
  • Lindsay Foster, Center for Cybersecurity Innovation and Outreach
  • Emili Johnson, Office of Admissions
  • Yamille Pérez, Engineering Student Services
  • Heather Sauer, College of Design Administration
  • Elizabeth Scheuffele, Finance Service Delivery
  • Jenny Warrick, Facilities Planning and Management


*This group is comprised of faculty and staff that identify as women*.  This includes women who are cisgender, trans, of trans experience, etc.  We also welcome individuals who identify as gender non-binary or gender queer who seek this community.  We recognize that gender is complex and members of our community who seek this group are welcome to apply.


Cohort Announcements for Previous Years